South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

South secures 5 more Championship winning players

South secures 5 more Championship winning players

Monday, 19 February 2007 12:12 AM

South Melbourne FC continues its aggressive push into maintaining the quality of its playing stocks going forward with a further 5 players who participated in last year’s Vodafone Cup triumph signing on for a further two years.

Ramazan Tavsancioglu, Tansel Baser, Sammy DeVito, Gianni De Nittis and Andrew Bourakis have all penned new two year deals which will secure their services to South Melbourne to at least the end of the 2008 season.

Tavsancioglu, Baser, De Vito and De Nittis were all regular first eleven starters last season with the players showcasing the undoubted unity that has been achieved under Coach John Anastasiadis by committing their immediate futures to the club.

Tavsancioglu experienced A-League football last season whilst Tansel Baser was an outstanding servant of the NSL before spending numerous seasons in Turkey. De Nittis and DeVito represent two of the best young players in Victorian if not Australian football with both producing performances of immense maturity over the last two seasons. Finally, Bourakis showed glimpses of his quality last season and adds further depth to South’s squad with his ability to play in the centre of the park or out wide, not to mention his quality at set pieces.

The above mentioned players join Fernando Moraes, Ricky Diaco and Yusuf Yusuf as players who have recently committed to the club for the next two years.

Privacy Preference Center