South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

2012 Victorian Premier League Season Fixture Finalised

2012 Victorian Premier League Season Fixture Finalised

Tuesday, 14 February 2012 6:41 PM

The Football Federation Victoria recently released the 2012 Victorian Premier League fixture and it’s a tough start for South Melbourne FC, with three away games in the first four rounds, including against both of last year’s grand finalists.

This season will see both the Moreland Zebras and Southern Stars promoted to the Victorian Premier League.

After an absence of 18 months and calling John Cain Memorial Park as its temporary home, the Club returns to the refurbished Lakeside Stadium. The opening round at Lakeside Stadium sees South take on State League 1 Champions Moreland Zebras, who are back in the Victorian Premier League after a two year absence.

Round 2 sees South travel to Jack Edwards Reserve to take on Oakleigh for an early attempt to avenge last years finals exit at the hands of the Cannons, while Round 3 sees a trip to Green Gully Reserve, where South Melbourne has not won since 1986 where goals from Bobby Russell and Manny Anezakis gave the points to South that day.

Key fixtures include the traditional derby against Heidelberg United where both teams meet in the last fixture of the regular season away at the Olympic Village, while South hosts the Melbourne Knights at Lakeside Stadium in Round 7.

All of South Melbourne FC’s home games this season will be on Sundays at 5pm – with the exception of the Round 5 game against Southern Stars, and the Round 15 game against Richmond, which sees the return of Friday night football at Lakeside.

For a complete list of the home and away fixtures for South Melbourne FC, please see below

Round 1 25 Mar 17:00 South Melbourne v Moreland Zebras Lakeside Stadium   Round 2 30 Mar 20:30 Oakleigh Cannons
South Melbourne  Jack Edwards Reserve   Round 3 14 Apr 15:00 Green Gully v South Melbourne Green Gully Reserve
  Round 4           21 Apr 15:00 Richmond v South Melbourne Kevin Bartlett Reserve   Round 5 4 May 20:30 South Melbourne v Southern Stars Lakeside Stadium   Round 6 13 May 15:00 Hume City v South Melbourne
John Ilhan Memorial Reserve
  Round 7 20 May 17:00 South Melbourne v Melbourne Knights Lakeside Stadium   Round 8 26 May 15:00 Dandenong Thunder v South Melbourne George Andrews Reserve   Round 9 3 June 17:00 South Melbourne 
v Northcote City Lakeside Stadium   Round 10 15 June 20:15 Bentleigh Greens v South Melbourne Kingston Heath Soccer Complex   Round 11 24 June 17:00 South Melbourne v Heidelberg United Lakeside Stadium   Round 12 1 July 15:00 Moreland Zebras v South Melbourne
To be confirmed
  Round 13 8 July 17:00 South Melbourne v
Oakleigh Cannons Lakeside Stadium
Round 14           15 July 17:00 South Melbourne v Green Gully
Lakeside Stadium   Round 15           20 July 20:30 South Melbourne v Richmond
Lakeside Stadium   Round 16           28 July 19:00 Southern Stars v South Melbourne
Kingston Heath Soccer Complex   Round 17           5 Aug 17:00 South Melbourne v Hume City
Lakeside Stadium   Round 18           12 Aug 15:00 Melbourne Knights v South Melbourne
Knights Stadium   Round 19           19 Aug 17:00 South Melbourne v Dandenong Thunder
Lakeside Stadium   Round 20           26 Aug 15:00 Northcote City v South Melbourne
John Cain Memorial Park   Round 21           9 Sep 17:00 South Melbourne v Bentleigh Greens
Lakeside Stadium   Round 22           16 Sep 15:00 Heidelberg United v South Melbourne
Olympic Village  
Sunshine George Cross
v South Melbourne Knights Stadium  

Privacy Preference Center