South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

Gavalas wins Theo Marmaras Medal

Gavalas wins Theo Marmaras Medal

Friday, 27 September 2013 9:10 AM

The 2013 South Melbourne FC Most Valuable Player of the Year Award was held at Principal Partner Beachcomber Cafe shortly after the match against Port Melbourne. Fans, players, and officials mingled and celebrated the Club’s qualification for the finals series.

The MVP Award was voted on by the coaching staff, with awards on a 3-2-1 basis.

Goalkeeper Peter Gavalas was awarded the 2013 Theo Marmaras Medal for Most Value Player of the season. In total, Gavalas made 20 VPL and 2 State Knockout Cup appearances in 2013, with the South custodian making a number of timely saves to keep his team in many matches. Gavalas was gracious in accepting the award, thanking his team mates and former coach Peter Tsolakis.

The Golden Boot Award was won by Trent Rixon with 9 VPL goals who hit a rich vein of form in the second half of the season. Two goals against Port Melbourne in the final match of the home and away season secured Rixon the top goal scorer award at the Club.

The SMFC Media Team Award was presented to Bryan Bran for his formidable presence in the back line, and playing a pivotal role in assisting his team mates in their resurgence in the second half of the season. Accepting the award, Bran mentioned he was shocked and very honoured to have been nominated for the award. He thanked the coaching staff, team mates, and the Media Team for their hard work throughout the season.

South Melbourne FC wishes to congratulate all winners in what was a fantastic evening.

Theo Marmaras Medal (top vote-getters)
17 – Peter Gavalas
14 – Tyson Holmes
14 – Nick Soolsma

Golden Boot Winner
Trent Rixon – 9 goals

SMFC Media Team Award
Bryan Bran

Privacy Preference Center