South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

South victorious at AAMI Park, as Victory relegated

South victorious at AAMI Park, as Victory relegated

South Melbourne FC returned to winning ways with a 4-1 win over Melbourne Victory’s NPL side at AAMI Park on Sunday afternoon.

Milos Lujic got South off to a dream start on four minutes when he headed Matthew Millar’s back-post cross across Victory goalkeeper Lucas Spinella and into the goal. Victory were on level terms just eight minutes later though when Michael Holden found space down the left side before crossing low for captain John Maclean to score past Nikola Roganovic. The South custodian got a glove to the ball but was unable to keep it out of the net.

South continued their pressure in the second half and eventually got the all-important second goal on 72 minutes. Leigh Minopoulos had gone close to scoring three times in the opening half but he was not to be denied when he created space and hit a stinging goal-bound shot that deflected off Spinella and flew into the net.

The three points were wrapped up when Lujic’s header was parried by Spinella straight into the path of substitute Manolo and the Spaniard made no mistake in scoring South’s third goal. Lujic finished off the scoring on 90 minutes when he won and then converted a penalty, sending Spinella the wrong way from the penalty spot for South’s fourth and final goal of the afternoon.

The win keeps South in second place on the NPL Victoria ladder, five points behind the Bentleigh Greens with four home & away matches remaining.

The Under 20s match between the two sides was postponed and will be played at a later date to be advised by Football Federation Victoria.

South returns to Lakeside Stadium next weekend when it hosts Avondale FC, with kick-off at 4pm on Sunday 31 July.


Goal Scorers:
0-1: Milos Lujic (4′)
1-1: John Maclean (12′)
1-2: Leigh Minopoulos (72′)
1-3: Manuel Herrero (79′)
1-4: Milos Lujic (90’p)

Melbourne Victory FC (NPL):
1. Lucas SPINELLA (GK), 2. John VAKIRTZIS, 3. Callum GOULDING (13. Ryan LAMBERT 69′), 4. Ben CARRIGAN, 5. James XYDIAS, 7. Andre McNAMARA (16. Christian THEOHAROUS 50′), 8. Anthony DUZEL, 10. Cameron McGILP, 11. John MACLEAN (C), 12. Dion PAOLA (15. Josh HOPE 46′), 14. Michael HOLDEN.
Unused Subs: 9. Pierce WARING, 20. Brandon OSIPOV (GK).

South Melbourne FC:
1. Nikola ROGANOVIC (GK) / 12. Amadu KOROMA, 4. Michael EAGAR (C), 2. Tim MALA, 11. Brad NORTON / 23. Matthew FOSCHINI / 18. Matthew MILLAR (15. Manuel HERRERO 58′), 17. Marcus SCHROEN, 7. Nick EPIFANO / 9. Milos LUJIC, 27. Leigh MINOPOULOS (22. Andy KECOJEVIC 90′).
Unused Subs: 14. Chris IRWIN, 21. Zaim ZENELI (GK), 99. Iqi JAWADI.

SMFC Melbourne City Toyota Man of the Match: Matthew Foschini
Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Date: Sunday 24 July 2016

Privacy Preference Center