South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

Diaco takes out MVP honour

Diaco takes out MVP honour

Monday, 8 October 2007 10:44 AM

Striker Ricky Diaco completed an impressive first season with the club capturing the MVP award for the best player in season 2007 on Friday at Bob Jane Stadium.

Diaco, who had crossed over from Whittlesea, had an exceptional first season for the famous Blue and Whites, scoring 10 goals along the way and playing a part in most others scored by the club during the course of the year.

Speaking to, Diaco was honoured to win the award.

“It is an honour to win such a prestigious award, knowing South is such a famous club and how many big names have won this award in the past.”, said a humble Diaco.

When asked about the side for 2008 and what his assessed goals were for next season, Diaco was adamant that he was after team success and to lead the Blues into the finals.

“South is a proud club and not to play finals in 2007 leaves a bad feeling in my stomach, as it does with the rest of the boys. We need to stick together now and make sure we have learnt our mistakes from this season and do this club and ourselves proud in 2008.

All that all the boys want is to play finals and to win a championship with South Melbourne and to see the joy on the faces of our fans”, said Diaco.

Runner up to Diaco was strike partner Nathan Caldwell and fan favourite Ramazan Tavscancioglu.

For Tavscancioglu it was the 2nd time in the one week that he finished in the Top 3 – he also finished in an impressive 3rd place in the prestigious FFV Gold Medal award, only 3 points behind winner Terry Antoniadis.

In other awards handed out for the evening, Ricky Diaco also took out the Golden Boot award for the top goalscorer in senior competion, while highly rated youngster Sebastian Gonzales took out the U/21 MVP for the best player at that level.

Trent Waterson was given the Clarendon Corner Supporters MVP, an award voted on by the fans to identify which player was the best in season 2007.
Mitchell Langerak was awarded the Clarendon Corner Supporters U/21 Player of the Year award.

Award Summary

Seniors MVP – Ricky Diaco
Golden Boot – Ricky Diaco
U/21 MVP – Sebastian Gonzales
CC Supporters Award – Trent Waterson
CC Supporters U/21 Award – Mitchell Langerak

Privacy Preference Center