South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

Media Release: South Melbourne FC to be honoured at World Football Gala

Media Release: South Melbourne FC to be honoured at World Football Gala

Monday, 18 January 2010 8:42 PM

South Melbourne FCSouth Melbourne FC is proud to announce that it is to be honoured at the 2010 World Football Gala to be held at the exclusive Hurlingham Club in London on Monday, February 1st, 2010.

As part of the annual football awards which are conducted by International Football Federation of History and Statistics (IFFHS) on behalf of FIFA, the Club of the Century from each confederation is to be honoured. South Melbourne FC has been awarded the highly prestigious award of Club of the Century for the Oceania Confederation. The other winners are:

  • Europe – Real Madrid CF (Spain)
South America – CA Penarol Montevideo (Uruguay)

  • Africa- Asante Kotoko FC Kumasi (Ghana)
Asia – Al-Hilal FC Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)

  • Central and North America – CD Saprissa San Juan de Tibas San Jose (Costa Rica)
  • Oceania – South Melbourne FC (Australia)

At the Gala event, each club of the century will be presented with its award, including a golden trophy and a certificate, by a world-famous footballer. The event will also be attended by a number of captains of national teams which have qualified for the World Cup 2010 and legends of world football.

South Melbourne FC President, Leo Athanasakis, will travel to London to accept the award on behalf of the Club.

During the 20th century, South Melbourne FC were:

  • Winners of the Oceania Confederation Club Championship.
  • Finalists at the World Club Championships in Rio de Janeiro.
  • Four times national champions of Australia.
  • Seven times state championships of Victoria.
  • Winners of the NSL Cup on two occasions.
  • Winners of numerous other tournaments and trophies.

The Club’s tremendous success and domination of Australian football is clear from the following table of the top 10 clubs of the century for the Oceania Confederation.

Position Club Country Points 1 South Melbourne FC Australia 106.50 2 Sydney City SC Australia 53.00 3 Marconi Stallions FC Sydney Australia 48.25 4 Wollongong Wolves FC Australia 46.00 5 University – Mount Wellington AFC New Zealand 41.25 6 Melbourne Knights Australia 39.50 7 Adelaide City FC Australia 36.50 8 Napier City Rovers AFC New Zealand 34.00 9 Tafea FC Port Vila Vanuatu 33.00 10 Sydney United Australia 29.50

For more information, please contact George Triantos, media spokesperson on 9645 9797 or

– ENDS –

Click here to download media release (PDF)

Privacy Preference Center