South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

South announce 2010 senior squad

South announce 2010 senior squad

Thursday, 25 February 2010 9:42 AM

Please click here to view the squad with profilesCarl-Recchia

South Melbourne FC is pleased to announce their squad for the 2010 Victorian Premier League season.

The team is brimming with a combination of youthful exuberance, talent and experience.

A number of core players have been retained in addition to being reinforced with a number of talented and experienced players. South has entered the transfer market strongly, recruiting Peter Zois to replace Tommich, James Stefanou and Marinos Gasparis from Heidelberg United, Carl Recchia from Altona Magic, Daniel Vasilevski  from A-League club Newcastle Jets and Joe Keenan from Hibernian in the Scottish Premier League.

Departing from South at the end of the 2009 season included Andrew Sfetkopoulos (Altona Magic), Tommi Tommich (Altona Magic), Shane Nunes, Nic Curtis (Northcote City), Con Blatsis (retired), Vaughan Coveny (retired), Francesco Stella (Siena, Italy), Danni Radojicic (Altona Magic) & Goran Zoric (Royal Thai Police United FC, Thailand).

Rookie coach and club legend, Vaughan Coveny will lead a strong side into the 2010 VPL season.

SMFC Director of Football Ange Dallas, speaking to, stated “there has been a lot of hard work gone into recruiting and preparing a team that the South faithful can be proud of in 2010. We have completed an extensive process where players from all over Australia have trialed at the club in the hope of securing a spot in our squad. There are some young exciting prospects which are set to make their mark throughout the year. We hope that our passionate supporters get behind the team from the outset and support those who have been entrusted to wear the South Melbourne shirt .”

The 2010 senior squad is as follows:

1. Peter Zois
2. Stiven Mrkela
3. Rhodri Payne
4. Steven O’Dor
5. Daniel Vasilevski
6. Eddie Cetkin
7. Joe Keenan
8. Carl Recchia
9. Gianni De Nittis
10. Joseph Youssef
11. Yusuf Yusuf
12. Sam Torrens
13. Sasha Vranesevic
14. Ramazan Tavsancioglu
15. Fernando De Moraes
18. Marinos Gasparis
20. Nathan Caldwell
21. Stefaan Sardelic
22. James Stefanou
23. Sebastian Petrovic

Please click here to view the squad with profiles

Privacy Preference Center