South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

South Announce 2009 Squad

South Announce 2009 Squad

Monday, 9 February 2009 11:10 PM

South Melbourne FC is pleased to announce their squad for the 2009 Victorian Premier League

The team is brimming with a combination of youthful exuberance, talent and experience.

A number of core players have been retained in addition to being reinforced with experienced VPL performers such as Stiven Mrkela (Altona Magic) and the return of club stalwart and new Zealand international Vaughan Coveny (Wellington Phoenix).

Recently appointed SMFC Director of Football Ange Dallas stated:

“There has been a lot of hard work  gone into recruiting and preparing a team that the South faithful can be proud of in the club’s 50th year. We have completed an extensive process where players from all over Australia have trialed at the club in the hope of securing a spot in our squad. There are some young exciting prospects which are set to make their mark throughout 2009. We hope that our passionate supporters get behind the team from the outset and support those who have been entrusted to wear the South Melbourne shirt in this very important year.”

The 2009 senior squad is as follows:

  1. Tomi Tommich
  2. Shane Nunes
  3. Rhodri Payne
  4. Steven O’Dor
  5. Con Blatsis
  6. Eddie Cetkin
  7. Nic Curtis
  8. Vaughan Coveny
  9. Gianni De Nittis
  10. Joseph Youseff
  11. Yusef Yusef
  12. Sam Torrens
  13. Francesco Stella
  14. Ramazan Tavsancioglu
  15. Fernando De Moraes
  16. Stiven Mrkela
  17. Danni Radojicic
  18. Goran Zoric
  19. Nathan Caldwell
  20. Stefan Sardellic
  21. Matthew Foschini
  22. Sebastian Petrovich
  23. Andrew Sfetkopoulos

Please click here to view the squad with profiles

Privacy Preference Center