South Melbourne FC

The Blue and White Forever

South Cruise to Fifth Round of Cup

South Cruise to Fifth Round of Cup

Tuesday, 26 April 2011 11:34 PM

By John Kyrou

South Melbourne FC recorded arguably its biggest victory in recognised League and Cup competition when it defeated Yarraville Glory 14-0 in the Fourth Round of the Mirabella Cup on Tuesday afternoon at John Cain Memorial Park. Five goals to Fernando De Moraes and doubles to Ljubo Milicevic, Nick Jacobs and Gianni De Nittis were some of the highlights in a match that showed a huge contrast in class between the Victorian Premier League and State League 3, even though coach Eddie Krncevic rested many of South’s senior players. South is expected to play the winner of the match between South Yarra (Provisional League 1 North/West) and Port Melbourne (State League 1) in the Fifth Round of the competition.

South Melbourne FC resumes Victorian Premier League duties on Sunday afternoon when it entertains League leaders Dandenong Thunder at John Cain Memorial Park. Kick-off is at 15:00.


Goal Scorers:
1-0: Ljubo Milicevic (6′)
2-0: Fernando De Moraes (19′)
3-0: Kyle Joryeff (42′)
4-0: Bobby Russell (45+2′)
5-0: Fernando De Moraes (53′)
6-0: Nick Jacobs (59′)
7-0: Nick Jacobs (63′)
8-0: Fernando De Moraes (70′)
9-0: Fernando De Moraes (71′)
10-0: Gianni De Nittis (75′)
11-0: Gianni De Nittis (76′)
12-0: Fernando De Moraes (83′)
13-0: Ljubo Milicevic (85′)
14-0: Fernando De Moraes (90′)

South Melbourne FC Line-up:
5. Daniel VASILEVSKI, 6. Steven TOPALOVIC (27. Joshua COLOSIMO 72′), 9. Gianni DE NITTIS, 12. Brad TRELOAR, 13. Ljubo MILICEVIC, 15. Fernando DE MORAES, 16. Trent WATERSON, 20. Abdelhadi DEROUNE (1. Stefaan SARDELIC 72′), 25. Kyle JORYEFF (24. Nick JACOBS 56′), 30. Jake VANDERMEY, 33. Bobby RUSSELL (17. Mackie SIMMONS 73′)

SMFC Man of the Match: Fernando De Moraes
Venue: John Cain Memorial Park
Date: Tuesday 26 April 2011

Privacy Preference Center